Book review: The Sweet Life Parts 1 and 2 by Francine Pascal

If you’re at all familiar with the Sweet Valley TwinsSweet Valley High or Sweet Valley University books, then you already know all about twins Jessica and Elizabeth Wakefield and the drama that surrounded them and their friends and family as they grew up in the California town of Sweet Valley. I’ll admit to reading most of the above series’ back in the day (my favorite of them all were the Sweet Valley University books, just for the record), but didn’t read Sweet Valley Confidential, which came out last year and brought fans up to date with tales of the twins mid-to-late 20s lives.

Now the twins and their pals are back, and based on my calculations, in their early 30’s. This new e-series consists of 6 novellas chronicling the latest drama: Elizabeth and Bruce Patman are living together in Beverly Hills when he’s hit by a scandal; Jessica and Todd are the separated parents of a 2-year-old who are trying to work out their problems, but keep screwing up because Jessica is as manipulative as ever; and Lila Fowler and her football player husband Ken Matthews have their own problems, as Lila manages to get cast in reality-show The True Housewives of Sweet Valley. There are a few mentions of other “bit players,” like the twins older brother Steven, Caroline Pierce the gossip queen, and now-lawyer Annie Whitman. If you read any of the previous series’ or jumped into the Sweet Valley saga with Sweet Valley Confidential, then you’ll love these. They have all of the classic “Wakefield” drama. If you haven’t read any of the previous books and have no idea who any of the characters are, then you’ll be a bit lost.

The first two parts of the series, which I briefly went over above, The Sweet Life, and The Sweet Life 2: Lies & Omissions, went on sale yesterday, and are only available as e-books priced at $1.99 each. Lies & Omissions ends with a nice cliffhanger, so you and I both will have to wait and see what happens next.

The other mini-novels in the series are:

The Sweet Life 3: Too Many Doubts – on sale July 22nd

The Sweet Life 4: Secrets and Seduction – on sale July 29th

The Sweet Life 5: Cutting the Ties – on sale August 5th

The Sweet Life 6: Bittersweet – on sale August 12th

For more information or to purchase the first two novellas, check out the official Sweet Valley Confidential/The Sweet Life website.


(Disclosure: A galley of the first two novellas in the series was provided to me by the publisher in exchange for my honest review. For more information, please check out my disclosure policy.)



Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s